International Campus Law Enforcement Agency


IACLEA Facebook


Merit Award Winner

The Award for Merit is presented to a campus officer who each day displays professionalism and excellence in performing his/her duties or whose actions and attitude bring credit to the campus law enforcement community.


2016 Merit Award Recipients:  Sgt. Jose Alvarez, Officer Mark Mugica, & Sgt. Archibald Mendoza – Biola University



On February 19, 2016 Officer Mugica and Sergeants Alvarez and Mendoza responded to a call regarding a male student at a campus basketball court that was collapsed and was not breathing. Upon arrival, the officers immediately determined that the student had no pulse and was losing color. The officers immediately assume critical response roles; Officer Mugica began administering chest compressions, Sgt. Alvarez began administering rescue breaths, and Sergeant Mendoza applied and operated the automated external defibrillator (AED).


At some point, the device used by Sergeant Alvarez malfunctioned and he resorted to mouth to mouth rescue breaths without any hesitation. Their immediate actions were credited by the Doctors as not only saving the student’s life, but preventing any brain damage whatsoever. A point of note: two of these same officers used the same techniques a month prior to save a 6-month old infant who almost drowned.


Past Recipients:


2015 - Seargeant Kevin Gray, The University of Texas Police at Houston

2014 - Officer Jonathan Logan, Alamo Colleges Police Department

2013 - Officers Jennifer Ockerman and Emily Smith, University of Kentucky

2012 - Captain John Adams, University of California Los Angeles

2011 - Officers David Coakley and Adam Koehler of the New York State University at Cortland Police Department

2010 - Officer Matthew Mastrosimone of College of New Jersey Police Department

2009 - Detectives Thomas Bacigalupi and Patricia Millan, George Mason University

2008 - Officer Ronald Guichon, University of Illinois at Chicago

2007 - Officer Yvonne Meyer, Parkland College

2006 - Sergeant Robert J. Vaccaro, North Shore Community College District

2005 -Officer Douglas Boortz, Florida State University

2004 - Officer Richard G. Dohme, University of Nevada – Las Vegas

2003 - Sergeant John Ojeisekhoba, Biola University

2002 - Mr. Brendell Klaasen - University of Stellenbosch

2001 - Sergeant Allison Valles - University of Texas at El Paso

2000 - Sergeant E. Steven Milne of the Utah State University Police Department

1999 - Sergeant Troy Williamson, University of Central Florida Police Department.